Tennessee County Map

This Tennessee county map shows all 95 counties in the state. The map is color coded to show the Three Grand Divisions: East, Middle, and West Tennessee. Scroll down for regional maps.

The Three Grand Divisions represent legal boundaries, but they also closely follow differences in geography and culture.

East Tennessee is the most mountainous region, with the Appalachian Mountains (which includes the Smoky Mountains) to the east and the Cumberland Plateau to the west. The Tennessee Valley, which is more like a series of ridges and valleys, lies in between.

The Cumberland Plateau separates East Tennessee from Middle Tennessee, a region of rolling hills and river valleys.

West Tennessee is flat agricultural land, part of the Gulf Coastal Plain. It's boundaries are the Mississippi River to the west and the Tennessee River to the east.

East Tennessee

Middle Tennessee

West Tennessee

Return to Discovering East Tennessee home page from Tennessee County Map